Disability-related Health Supports Operational Guideline - Definitions

From the Department of Health:


  • Acute services are often short in length of stay and generally provided by public and private hospitals;
  • Acute conditions are those that come on sharply and are often brief, intense and/or severe.


  • Post-acute services provide follow-up care after a person’s hospital stay, often by allied health services, and can include admitted or community-based rehabilitation

Chronic conditions:

  • have complex and multiple causes;
  • may affect individuals either alone or as comorbidities;
  • usually have a gradual onset, although they can have sudden onset and acute stages;
  • occur across the life cycle, although they become more prevalent with older age;
  • can compromise quality of life and create limitations and disability;
  • are long-term and persistent, and often lead to a gradual deterioration of health and loss of independence; and
  • while not usually immediately life threatening, are the most common and leading cause of premature mortality.

Concurrent Supports

  • Concurrent supports are supports that continue to be provided to a NDIS participant through the NDIS at the same time as they are accessing mainstream health systems. 


  • A diagnosis is a decision and advice provided by a practitioner using clinical judgment to determine a person’s symptoms and the possible condition causing these symptoms.

Palliative care

  • Palliative care is treatment, care and support for people living with a life-limiting illness.

Time limited (non-ongoing)

  • where the predominant purpose is treatment directly related to the person’s health status; or
  • provided after a recent medical or surgical event, with the aim of improving the person’s functional status, including rehabilitation or post-acute care.
This page current as of
24 September 2019
Indicates required field
Was this page useful?*
Why not?