Requirements for providing Specialist Disability Accommodation (SDA) and the obligations of registered providers are set out in legislation and a number of NDIA documents.

The legislation includes:

  • the National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013 (NDIS Act)
  • the Rules made under the NDIS Act, in particular the NDIS (Specialist Disability Accommodation) Rules 2020 (SDA Rules), the NDIS (Supports for Participants) Rules 2013 and the NDIS (Registered Providers of Supports) Rules 2013
  • State and territory legislation, including codes and standards that apply to the provision of SDA in each state or territory.

SDA Rules

Most of the requirements and obligations in relation to SDA are set out in the SDA Rules .

The SDA Rules were agreed by the Commonwealth and all state and territory governments and is the central authorising document for SDA.

The SDA Rules require all providers to be registered NDIS providers and for all dwellings to be enrolled with the NDIA. The Rules outline dwelling enrolment requirements such as design categories, eligible building types and other features that affect prices. 

The Pricing Arrangements for SDA provide more detail about how dwellings are priced. There are a number of conditions that must be met by providers before making an SDA payment claim. The Claiming Payment for SDA section of the Pricing Arrangements for SDA details the payment rules that apply for SDA.

Some changes were made to the SDA Rules in June 2020. In line with the SDA Rule changes the SDA Operational Guideline was also updated to:

  • provide more transparency about how decisions are made and how SDA is included in a participant’s plan
  • highlight the changes to the SDA Rules which increase participant choice in SDA living arrangements
  • improve content that is more accessible and easier to find.

Read more about the National Disability Insurance Scheme (Specialist Disability Accommodation) Rules 2020 .

Registering as an SDA provider

Prospective SDA providers need to register with the NDIS Quality and Safeguards Commission (NDIS Commission). 

The NDIS Commission is an independent agency established to improve the quality and safety of NDIS supports and services and ensure a nationally consistent approach to NDIS quality and safeguards.

All NDIS providers and workers must abide by the NDIS Code of Conduct , which sets out expectations for safe and ethical service delivery. 

Providers who register with the NDIS Commission must also meet the NDIS Practice Standards which specify the quality standards to be met by registered NDIS providers to provide supports and services to NDIS participants. 

Visit the NDIS Commission website for more information.

Dwelling enrolment

There are 2 options to enrol an SDA dwelling. A provider can enrol a dwelling against the new SDA Design Standard or the current Minimum Requirements .  

All SDA dwellings must be enrolled with the NDIA through the new my NDIS provider portal. The portal enables providers to create dwelling enrolment requests online and to view and manage the end-to-end application process.

To register for access to the new portal, the SDA provider’s PRODA account manager must email [email protected] with the following information:  

  • organisation name
  • full name of authorised organisational contact
  • date of birth of authorised organisational contact
  • email of authorised organisational contact
  • PRODA registration authority (RA) number of authorised organisational contact. To locate your RA number:
    • log in to PRODA
    • click on ‘Profile’
    • 'My Details’ will populate
    • the RA number is located at the bottom of ‘My Details’.

Providers will receive an email notification confirming their registration. Once registration is confirmed, follow the prompts to log in to the my NDIS provider portal .

This page current as of
7 July 2021