Quality and Safeguards

Transition to the NDIS Quality and Safeguards Commission

From 1 July 2018, the NDIS Quality and Safeguards Commission (NDIS Commission) began operating in New South Wales and South Australia. The NDIS Commission will progressively begin operating in other states and territories, providing national consistency by 2020.

The NDIS Commission will begin to regulate and register providers operating in:

  • Vic, Qld, Tas, ACT, NT from 1 July 2019
  • WA from 1 July 2020.

The NDIS Commission is a new independent agency established to improve the quality and safety of NDIS supports and services. The NDIS Commission will work with NDIS participants, service providers, workers and the community to introduce a new nationally consistent approach so participants can access services and supports that promote choice, control and dignity.

Until the NDIS Commission begins operating in a state or territory, current quality and safeguards requirements for that state or territory will continue to apply.

Visit the NDIS Commission's website (external) (External website) for information on it's role and responsibilities.

Important state deadlines

The NDIA will continue to receive all new registration group applications for providers in Vic, Qld, Tas, ACT and the NT until 30 June 2019 through the myplace provider portal. However, providers need to be aware that some registration groups also require approval by state governments, in accordance with their respective quality and safeguard standards, before the NDIA is able to finalise the registration request.

Providers wishing to apply for select registration groups in Vic, Qld, Tas, ACT and the NT must begin the process with their relevant state or territory government before the state or territory deadline.

The Victorian, Queensland, Tasmanian, ACT and NT governments have each elected to implement state-by-state cut-off dates due to the length of time required to assess registration applications against their quality and safeguard standards.

Please visit each state's quality and safeguard's page for information on your state or territory's deadline date. Please note – deadline dates will be updated as they become available. Providers are encouraged to check their state or territory page regularly.

Providers wishing to apply for these registration groups in Victoria, Tasmania and the ACT must begin the process with their relevant state or territory government before 1 March 2019. Find out how to contact your state or territory government.

If you want to apply for the select registration group after your state/territory's deadline has passed, you will need to begin a new application with the NDIS Commission. Providers are reminded that the NDIS Commission will not begin accepting applications for registration of providers in Victoria, Queensland, Tasmania, ACT and the NT until 1 July 2019. Ensuring applications are submitted to the NDIA early will avoid the need to re-apply for registration with the NDIS Commission on 1 July 2019.

Working arrangements

During transition to full Scheme, in states and territories where the NDIS Commission is yet to begin operations, providers are required to comply with existing Commonwealth, State and Territory quality and safeguards standards and legislation, supported by Transitional Quality and Safeguarding Working Arrangements between the states and territories, the Commonwealth and NDIA which explain each party's roles and responsibilities.

Guide to suitability

The Provider Registration Guide to Suitability explains what providers need to do to meet the quality and safeguards requirements in each state or territory prior to the NDIS Commission beginning in that location:

This page current as of
11 February 2019