Council of Australian Governments

The Council of Australian Governments (COAG) is the peak intergovernmental forum in Australia.


The members of COAG are the Prime Minister, state and territory Premiers and Chief Ministers, and the President of the Australian Local Government Association.

COAG’s role is to promote policy reform that is important to the whole country, or needs to be coordinated by all states and territories and the Commonwealth government.

See the Intergovernmental agreements page for all agreements signed by Commonwealth and state and territory governments.

Summary of key dates

The following are key dates in COAG’s role in establishing the NDIS:

For more information about COAG and meeting outcomes, please visit the COAG website (external) (External website).

Disability Reform Council

The COAG Disability Reform Council (DRC) is a forum for Governments to discuss issues and develop disability policy, including the NDIS.

DRC oversees the implementation of the NDIS, and makes recommendations to COAG on the transition to the NDIS. DRC ensures a range of reforms are implemented through the National Disability Agreement and the National Disability Strategy to support people with disability, their families and carers.

Disability Reform Council Members

DRC is chaired by the Commonwealth Minister responsible for disability and consists of Commonwealth, State and Territory Ministers within disability and treasury portfolios.

For more information on the Disability Reform Council, visit the Department of Social Services website (external) (External website).

This page current as of
11 December 2018