NDIS rollout continues across Australia

From 1 January 2018 people with disability in new regions and age groups in three states across Australia will be eligible to access the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS), improving the lives of people with disability across Australia.

These new rollout areas are:

  • Tasmania – people aged 29 to 34 years old
  • Queensland - people living in the Rockhampton, Gladstone and west to the borders regions of Queensland
  • South Australia – people aged 18 to 64 years in Eyre Western, Far North, Fleurieu and Kangaroo Island, Southern Adelaide, Yorke and Mid North regions.

The National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA) is working with Early Childhood Early Intervention (ECEI) and Local Area Coordination (LAC) Partners in Community to deliver the NDIS in local communities across Australia. ECEI and LAC partners help participants navigate the NDIS and connect them with other community services, where appropriate. Partners in Community will assist people with disability and their families and carers to understand, access and prepare for the NDIS in advance of the roll outs.

Once fully implemented in the new rollout areas, the NDIS is expected to support about:

  • 10,600 people with disability in Tasmania,
  • 4,900 people in the Rockhampton, Gladstone and west to the borders region of Queensland,
  • 32,300 people across South Australia.

Approximately 460,000 people will participate in the NDIS across Australia nationally by 2020.
Visit your state or territory page for more information on the NDIS roll out.