Honours for disability community 

The NDIA would like to extend their congratulations to members of the disability community who have been acknowledged in this year’s Australia Day honours.

Dylan Alcott (OAM) has been named 2022 Australian of the Year. This is the first time in the award's 62-year history that a person with a visible disability has been named Australian of the Year.

Dylan was also made an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for distinguished service to paralympic sport, particularly to tennis, and as a role model for people with disability, and to the community through a range of organisations. 

In accepting Australian of the Year, Dylan said his purpose is changing perceptions so people with disability, people like him, can get out there and live the lives they deserve to live. 

Dr Helen Nugent (AO), who stepped down as NDIA Board Chair at the end of last year, received a Companion of the Order of Australia (AC). Helen was appointed to the order for eminent service to people with disability through leadership of social and economic policy reform and implementation, to business, to the arts, and to the community.

John Walsh (AM) was honoured as an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for distinguished service to public health through leadership and advocacy roles. John was a long term NDIA Board member and one of the principal architects and strongest advocates for the NDIS. John was also the principal member of the Independent Advisory Council for a period, providing important guidance and encouragement to the Council which has helped it become an important part of decision making in the Agency. 

Sue Salthouse was posthumously honoured as a Member of the Order of Australia (AM). Sue, who before her passing was a member of our Independent Advisory Council, was a fierce advocate for people with disability and was honoured for her significant service as an advocate for people with a disability, and to the prevention of family violence. We continue to remember Sue, her work in the community and her contributions to the Scheme.