Changes to the NDIA Board

Minister for the NDIS Senator the Hon Linda Reynolds CSC today announced a number of appointments and reappointments to the National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA) Board.

Four new members have been appointed to the Board with effect from 1 January 2022; Ms Leah van Poppel; Dr Peta Seaton AM; Ms Meredith Allan and Dr Denis Napthine. 

Minister Reynolds said these appointments were made in consultation with the states and territories, and with careful consideration of the specialist skills, knowledge and experience required to guide the NDIA through its next phase. 

“Importantly, two new appointments to the NDIA Board are people with disability which will ensure that the leadership of the Board has direct representation of lived experience. This aligns with the Government’s commitment through the NDIS Amendment (Participant Service Guarantee and Other Measures) Bill 2021 introduced into the Parliament recently, which will legislate people with disability as a key consideration when making appointments to the NDIA Board.”

“I congratulate and welcome the new Board members. Their wealth of experience across the public and private sectors, as well as their demonstrated commitment to, and advocacy for, people with disability, will strengthen the Board’s leadership of the NDIS.” 

Of the remaining current Members, Professor Jane Burns, Ms Estelle Pearson, Ms Sandra Birkensleigh, and Mr Glenn Keys AO have all been reappointed to the Board.  

Chair, Dr Helen Nugent AO, and Board member Ms Robyn Kruk AO will step down on 31 December 2021, when their current terms expire. Both have served two terms, having been appointed to the Board on 1 January 2017. 

“On behalf of the Government I would like thank Dr Nugent and Ms Kruk for their significant and enduring contributions to the NDIS,” Minister Reynolds said.

“Both have served with distinction, and overseen the transition of the scheme from a trial with just over 61,000 participants to a truly national scheme delivering life-changing supports to around 500,000 Australians with disability.”

Minister Reynolds commended Dr Nugent for always putting participants at the heart of her decision making, and for her unwavering commitment to delivering a Scheme that makes a real difference to the lives of Australians with disability now, and in the future.

Current Board member, Mr James Minto will serve as acting Chair until a permanent appointment is made. Mr Minto was first appointed to the Board on 1 January 2017 and has served two terms. His second term has been extended to 30 June 2023.