How you register for the NDIS is dependent on where you provide services.

If you’re only operating in states and territories other than WA, you register with the NDIS Commission

If you’re only operating in Western Australia you first have to apply for a PRODA account , then register with the NDIA through the myplace provider portal.

If you’re operating in states and territories other than WA, and also operating in WA, you must register with both the NDIS Commission and NDIA.

Registering in all states and territories except WA

The NDIS Commission is responsible for registering and regulating providers in ACT, NSW, NT, QLD, SA, Tas and Vic.

The NDIS Commission regulates the NDIS market, provides national consistency, promotes safety and quality services, resolves problems and identifies areas for improvement.

Providers operating in all states and territories except WA will continue to interact with the NDIA for a range of functions including service bookings, payment requests, and viewing participants’ plans in the myplace provider portal.

Becoming a registered provider in WA

The NDIA is still responsible for the registration and regulation of providers in WA.

The NDIS Commission will commence in Western Australia on 1 December 2020.

Once you have submitted all required information, the NDIA will assess your application.

You will be notified if further information is required. If you don’t supply this information your application will not progress and/or will be rejected.

If your registration is successful, you will be sent a certificate of registration.

If your registration is not successful, you will be given the opportunity to re-apply.

If you have not passed the WA state Quality and Safeguards requirements, or have not provided evidence that you have met WA state Quality and Safeguards requirements, your registration will only be processed to the ‘pending state approval’ stage.

Once you provide evidence that you have complied with these requirements by uploading your acceptance letter to the myplace provider portal, your application can continue being processed.

Once you have received the certificate of registration you can start marketing your services in accordance with the Terms of Business, and engaging with NDIS participants to understand their goals, preferences and objectives.

It is important that providers read and understand the terms of business:

From 1 July 2020 - Apply to become an approved National Disability Insurance Scheme provider in Western Australia

The Department of Communities Western Australia will be inviting organisations that wish to deliver services to National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) participants to apply for registration on the Disability Services Provider Panel (DSPP) from 1 July 2020.

Existing DSPP providers may also apply to expand the services they currently deliver.

For information on applying, contact the registration team at

From 1 December 2020 – Transition to NDIS Quality and Safeguards Commission

Please note that from 1 December 2020, providers operating in Western Australia are required to register with the NDIS Quality and Safeguards Commission, instead of NDIA.

Providers wishing to add other supports that are considered to be ‘like’ services to Commonwealth program supports they already provide, have until 30 November 2020 to apply through the NDIS for registration. This includes programs funded through Department of Health and Services and Department of Social Services. Please check the Provider Registration Guide to Suitability for details.

For more information, please contact

Choosing the right registration groups

Support items are grouped into registration groups. Different supports have different levels of risk associated with their delivery.

Grouping supports streamlines registration for providers, so they only have to register for the registration groups relevant to their business.

Support items in each registration group have similar quality and safeguarding requirements.

To understand the specific requirements of each registration group, read through the registration group tables and WA requirements sections in the Guide to Suitability for WA (PDF) (DOC).

For providers operating in all states and territories except WA, the NDIS Commission has jurisdiction over registration group requirements. For more information, visit the NDIS Commission website .

Providers should register with the registration group that most closely aligns to the service or support they want to deliver.

Descriptions of registration groups are in the Guide to Suitability for WA:

Registration groups are generally categorised in one of five ways:​

1. Specialist Disability Registration Groups

Examples include ‘assistance with daily life tasks in a group or shared living arrangement’, ‘group and centre based activities’, ‘management of funding for supports’, and ‘specialised supported employment’.

To register for Specialist Disability Registration Groups, providers must be registered as a specialist disability service, community care or Home and Community Care provider in the state where you want to deliver supports or services.

Providers in WA must submit evidence of this registration, approval and compliance issued by the jurisdiction. This evidence document must state the services that you are currently providing, or are authorised to provide under the NDIS.

2. Professional Registration Groups

Examples include ‘community nursing care for high needs’, ‘therapeutic supports’, ‘interpreting and translation’ and ‘hearing services’.

Providers registering for professional registration groups must have specific professional qualifications and experience.

Additional requirements apply for some services. Information can be found in the Guide to Suitability for WA or by visiting the NDIS Commission for all other states and territories.

3. Other Registration Groups

Examples include ‘assistance with travel/transport arrangements’, ‘assistance animals’ and ‘innovative community participation’.

These registration groups include ‘low-risk’ supports that do not require evidence of qualification or expertise for registration.

4. Home and Vehicle Modification Registration Groups

Examples include ‘home modification design and construction’ and ‘vehicle modifications’.

Providers must be appropriately licensed and accredited to modify participants' homes and equipment, ensuring participants are receiving value for money and quality services.

The expertise required to provide these supports is different to the expertise required to provide supports within specialist disability registration groups.

5. Assistive Technology and Equipment Registration Groups

Examples include ‘assistive products for household tasks’, ‘communications and information equipment’, ‘personal mobility’ and ‘vision equipment’.

Details on the relevant professions and professional qualifications or membership requirements, as well as expectations of experience in each of these categories, can be found in the ‘Professional Qualifications for NDIS Providers’ section of the Guide to Suitability for WA:

This page current as of
2 July 2020
Indicates required field
Was this page useful?*
Why not?