Under the National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013 (the NDIS Act), the Board of the National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA) (the Board) consists of up to 11 members and the Chair (section 126).

Board members are appointed under section 127 of the NDIS Act on a part-time basis for three years at most. Members are eligible for appointment only if the Commonwealth Minister is satisfied they are a person with disability, have lived experience with disability or have the skills, experience or knowledge in at least one of the following fields:

  1. the provision or use of disability services
  2. the operation of insurance schemes, compensation schemes or schemes with long term liabilities
  3. financial management
  4. corporate governance.

The Chair is appointed by the Commonwealth Minister following consultation with all states and territories which must also agree with the appointment of Board members.

As the governing body of the NDIA, the Board will set the strategic direction of the NDIA, and develops and maintains relationships with stakeholders including the Minister, the Disability Reform Ministerial Council and the Independent Advisory Council. The Board will also ensure compliance by the NDIA with statutory requirements and manage risk.

The Board is also responsible for monitoring the performance of the NDIA and reporting to the Disability Reform Ministerial Council, as set out in the NDIS Act, Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Act 2013 (PGPA Act), and intergovernmental agreements.

The Board is also responsible for the development of an annual corporate plan for the NDIA which will also be published on this website.

The Board Audit Committee Charter (PDF 195KB) can be accessed here.

Board members of the NDIA

The members of the Board have extensive experience in the disability sector, insurance matters, financial management and corporate governance.

As required by the NDIS Act the appointments were made by the Commonwealth Minister with the agreement of all states and territories.

Members of the Board are:

  • Mr Kurt Fearnley AO
  • Dr Graeme Innes AM
  • Ms Maryanne Diamond AO
  • Dr Denis Napthine AO
  • Mr Jim Minto
  • Ms Sandra Birkensleigh
  • Ms Estelle Pearson
  • Dr Peta Seaton AM
  • Ms Meredith Allan
  • Ms Leah van Poppel
  • Mrs Joan McKenna Kerr
  • Dr Richard Fejo

Meet the NDIA Board

This page current as of
11 May 2023