Board profiles

On 18 July 2022, the Minister for the NDIS Senator the Hon Bill Shorten announced the resignation of Dr Denis Napthine AO as the Chairman of the NDIA Board, and the appointment of Mr James (Jim) Minto as Acting Chairman of the NDIA Board.

Mr Jim Minto (Acting Chairman)

Image of Jim Minto

Jim Minto is Chair of Swiss Re Life & Health Australia Ltd, Chair of Swiss Reinsurance Company Limited and Chair of New Zealand-based life insurer Partners Life Limited. 

He retired as Group CEO and Managing Director of life insurer TAL (formerly TOWER Australia) in March 2015. Previously he was Group CEO of the Trans-Tasman TOWER Limited Group.
He has extensive experience in the financial services sector.

A Chartered Accountant, he retired in 2015 as Chair of the Association of Superannuation Funds of Australia and was a panel member of the Australian Government’s Review of Natural Disasters Insurance in 2011.

Qualifications: Chartered Accountant, Massey University.

Chair: Risk Committee, People and Remuneration Committee.

Member: Sustainability Committee, ICT and Digital Committee.

Ms Sandra Birkensleigh

Image of Ms Sandra Birkensleigh

Ms Sandra Birkensleigh is an experienced non-executive director, bringing extensive experience in the financial services and insurance industries to the Agency. She currently holds board positions with MLC Insurance Ltd, Auswide Bank Limited, Horizon Oil Limited, 7-11 Holdings Limited (and its subsidiaries) and Sunshine Coast Children's Therapy Centre. She chairs the Audit Committee for each of these organisations. 

She is a member of the Council for the University of the Sunshine Coast, an independent member of the Audit Committee of the Reserve Bank of Australia, and Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee for the Public Trustee of Queensland. She was formerly a partner with PricewaterhouseCoopers including its Governance, Risk and Compliance practice.

Qualifications: Bachelor of Commerce from the University of New South Wales and a Chartered Accountant.

Chair: Audit Committee.

Member: Risk Committee, People and Remuneration Committee.

Professor Jane Burns

Image of Jane Burns

Jane Burns is a health strategist with extensive experience in suicide prevention, mental health, wellbeing and innovation.

She is Chair of Open Arms, Veterans Families Counselling Service, Chair of Swiss8 and a Non-Executive Director with the Applied Positive Psychology Learning Institute.

She is an experienced C-Suite Executive and was the founder and CEO of the Young and Well Cooperative Research Centre. 

While working with Industry and the NGO sector she has held joint appointments at the University of California, San Francisco and the University of Sydney. She is an enterprise professorial fellow at the University of Melbourne.

In recognition for her achievements in entrepreneurship she won the category of  Social Enterprise for 2015’s Australian Financial Review and Westpac Group 100 Women of Influence, and was a Victorian Finalist in the 2017 Telstra Business Women’s Awards.

Professor Burns is currently a strategic consultant to TogetherAI and Clarity+. 

Qualifications: PhD, BA HONS (Psych) from the University of Adelaide and GAICD.

Member: ICT and Digital Committee, People and Remuneration Committee.

Mr Glenn Keys AO

Image of Glenn Keys

Glenn Keys has been a member of the NDIS Board since inception. He has long been involved in efforts to improve the lives of people with disability through his involvement in the Special Olympics, the Down Syndrome Association and the disability housing sector.

He has a health sector background as co-founder and Executive Chairman of Aspen Medical, and founder and Chairman for Project Independence, an initiative offering home ownership to people with disability. 

He was awarded an Officer in the General Division (AO) in the 2017 Queen’s Birthday Honours list for his distinguished service to disability, business and commerce, and as an advocate for corporate social responsibility. Mr Keys was named 2015 ACT Australian of the Year and was a board member of the organising committee for the Australian Invictus Games 2018. He has a child with an intellectual disability.

Qualifications: Bachelor of Mechanical Engineering, University of New South Wales.

Chair: ICT and Digital Committee.

Member: People and Remuneration Committee.

Ms Estelle Pearson

Image of Estelle Pearson

Estelle Pearson has extensive experience in the insurance and injury compensation sector having worked as an actuary and consultant in this sector since 1989. She is currently a Director of Finity Consulting Pty Limited, and was previously on the Council of the Actuaries Institute, including a term as President in 2015.

Qualifications: BA (Hons) Mathematics, University of Oxford and FIAA.

Chair: Sustainability Committee. 

Member: Audit Committee.

Dr Peta Seaton AM


Peta Seaton is a Board member of Nepean Blue Mountains Local Health District and is the Principal of Strategic Consulting.

She is a former Chair of Hearing Australia, Deputy Chair of the Bradman Foundation and a Non-Executive Director of the Menzies Research Centre, BDCU Alliance Bank, and CARE Australia. She is the President of the Near Eastern Archaeology Foundation (University of Sydney).

A former NSW Parliamentarian and frontbencher, Dr Seaton served as Director of Transition and Director of Strategic Priorities in the NSW Premier’s Office from 2011-2014.

In 2017, Dr Seaton was made a member of the Order of Australia (AM). She lives in regional NSW and runs a small farm enterprise.

Qualifications: PhD and BA (Hons) from University of Sydney and a GAICD.
Member: Sustainability Committee, ICT and Digital Committee.

Ms Meredith Allan


Meredith Allan is a former president of the International Society of Alternative and Augmentative Communication (ISAAC), an organisation working to improve the lives of children and adults with complex communication needs. She was the first president to speak via alternative and augmentative communication (AAC).

Ms Allan recently retired from her 30-year career in the public service but continues working as a communication assessor for Scope and lecturer for Deakin University, La Trobe University, University of Newcastle and University of Technology Sydney.

Qualifications: Bachelor of Economics and Bachelor of Arts, Monash University.

Member: Risk Committee, Audit Committee.

Ms Leah van Poppel


Leah van Poppel is Chair of the Victorian NDIS Community Advisory and a member of the NDIS Independent Advisory Council (IAC).

A highly-respected leader and disability rights advocate, Ms van Poppel was CEO of Women with Disabilities Victoria from 2018-2021.

In this position, she worked to empower marginalised women in the community through education and mentoring, as well as research, policy advice and government advocacy.

Previously, Ms van Poppel was CEO of Blind Citizens Australia, Manager at Youth Disability Advocacy Service and NDIS Readiness Project Officer at Australian Federation of Disability Organisations (AFDO).

Qualifications: Bachelor of Arts, Macquarie University.

Member: Sustainability Committee.

This page current as of
20 July 2022